Her Broken Shadow | Synopsis | Screenings | Press

Dilman Dila, writer and director

Dilman Dila is the author of a critically acclaimed collection of short stories, A Killing in the Sun. He has been listed in several prestigious prizes, including the Gerald Kraak Award (2016), BBC International Radio Playwriting Competition (2014), the Commonwealth Short Story Prize (2013), and the Short Story Day Africa prize (2013, 2014). His short fiction have featured in several magazines and anthologies. His films include the masterpiece, What Happened in Room 13 (2007), which has attracted over six million views on Youtube, and The Felistas Fable (2013), which was nominated for Best First Feature at Africa Movie Academy Awards (2014), and which won four major awards at Uganda Film Festival (2014). In 2016, he released his second feature film, Her Broken Shadow, a scifi set in a futuristic Africa. It is now on the festival run, and has screened in places like Durban International Film Festival. More of his life and works are online at and you can watch his films on you YouTube channel



Esteri Tebandeke, lead actress

Esteri plays the lead in Her Broken Shadow (2017), her first foray into science fiction. She is an actress, dancer and visual artist, a graduate of the Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Art at Makerere University. She has appeared in Sins of the Parents (2008), Master on Duty (2009), and in Queen of Katwe (2016), where she starred alongside Academy Award winning actress Lupita Nyong’o and David Oyelowo. Her debut stage appearance was in The Lion and The Jewel, as Sidi, a play directed by Kaya Kagimu Mukasa. She portrayed a psychopathic nun in Maria Kizito, a play by Brown University professor, Erik Ehn, about the trial of nuns who facilitated the massacre of Tutsis during the Rwandan genocide. Other plays in which she was the lead actress include Cooking Oil, by Deborah Asiimwe, The Body of a Woman as a Battlefield in the Bosnian War, and The Marriage Chronicles.

Full Cast

Esteri Tebandeke

Sanyu Kiyimba

Elizabeth Kirabo

Linda Nabasa

Dilman Dila




Writer and Director

Dilman Dila



Lucy Clements



Ali Musoke Goodman



Jonathan Ojok


Art Director:

Charity Atukunda


Sound Recordist:

Bryan Kisembo Mugabi


Original Music:

Cristóbal MarYan